Afdhal / McHutchison LIFER Award

Application Deadline
Award Amount
$100,000 ($50,000/year)
Award Term
Two years
Award Type
Clinical / Translational / Outcomes Research
Career Level
Fellows / Postdocs

Disease Focus: All Areas


Applications for this program are no longer being accepted for the 2023 funding cycle. The 2024 RFA will be posted July, 2023.


View the 2023 request for applications [PDF].


The purpose of this two-year, $100,000 ($50,000/year) award is to foster career development for fellows performing clinical research and/or translational research in a liver-related area and who have shown commitment to excellence at an early stage of their research study. The award is intended to ensure that a significant portion of the investigators’ time is protected for research, with an overall objective of enabling the investigators to develop independent and productive research careers in liver disease.

**International applicants who have been accepted into a fellowship position at a North American institution are strongly encouraged to apply.**

  • Eligibility
  • Award Details
  • Selection Criteria
  • How to Apply
  • Application Resources


In order to be eligible for this award, the applicant must adhere to the following guidelines:

  1. The applicant must:
    • Be a postdoctoral or clinical research fellow who has completed their most recent doctoral degree or medical residency within the past six* years at the start of the grant term (completed no earlier than July 1, 2017). *The standard eligibility period for this award is within five years of the applicant’s most recent doctoral degree or medical residency. In consideration of the COVID-19 pandemic and its impact on researchers, AASLD Foundation has extended the eligibility window for the 2023 Awards cycle. This extension is not anticipated for future cycles.  
      • Applicants from North America must be employed by an academic, medical, or research institution at the time of application and for the duration of the award.
      • Applicants from outside of North America must have been accepted into a fellowship position or have a fellowship position contingent on receipt of the award at a North American education institution at the time of application and for the duration of the award. The North American fellowship position must start no later than the award start date (July 1, 2023) and end no earlier than the award end date (June 30, 2025). International applicants must have a student or trainee Visa to the country where the fellowship will occur that will be valid for the duration of the award term.
      • Individuals employed at the NIH, FDA, and CDC are not eligible to apply.
    • Be a member of the American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases (AASLD) at the time of award application and maintain active membership for the duration of the award period.
    • Be able to devote at least 80% effort to research activities related to the award.
    • Have a mentor at the North American institution who is an AASLD member in good standing for the duration of the award.
    • Not hold other similar research awards (see eligibility list for common programs). 
  2. The proposed project must:
    • Be clinical (direct contact with patients, clinical trials), translational (investigation using patient samples), or outcomes-based (epidemiological studies, patient-centered outcomes, or health services) research. 
    • Be conducted at the sponsoring institution within the United States, Canada or Mexico.
  3. Application limits:
    • There is no restriction on the number of applicants an institution can sponsor each cycle, but only one applicant may be funded per institution in this award category.
    • Applicants may only apply for one AASLD Foundation award per calendar year. 


Questions? Contact

Return to Current Funding Opportunities



The 2023 Afdhal/McHutchison LIFER Award program is made possible through independent grants and unrestricted donations from the Liver Institute and Foundation for Education and Research (LIFER), AASLD, and donors to the AASLD Foundation.